first_imgHOLDERS Donegal fell to defeat to Sligo in their opening game in the North-West Under-21 Cup at O’Donnell Park today.Donegal 2-7 Sligo 2-13Declan Bonner’s team, minus a number of regulars, were gunned down by Sligo, who had goals from Paul Kilcone and Kyle Cawley, whose late three-pointer put a gloss on the scoreline. Naomh Colmcille’s Daniel Clarke, playing competitively in the Donegal shirt for the first time, netted a 24th minute goal to bring Donegal back on level terms after Sligo began brightly.Kilcoyne’s goal on 12 minutes had fired Sligo in front and the Yeats men were 1-3 to 0-1 ahead midway through the half.Gavin McBride’s point in the first minute had started the Donegal ball rolling, but it ground to a halt until Lorcan Connor drilled over on 20 minutes.Clarke fired in from close range after Connor laid on a pass across goal. Connor himself struck gold in the 28th minute and Donegal led by two, 2-4 to 1-5, at the break.Paddy O’Connor struck four first-half frees and, after Donegal squandered a series of chances, O’Connor nailed another two beauties to bring Sligo onto an even keel.Another by O’Connor, in the 44th minute, put Sligo in front with a raft of changes on the Donegal side having been made at that stage – including the withdrawal of the injured Stephen McBrearty, who’d just been put on at half-time.Sub Darragh Black added a brace of points, one of either foot, kept Donegal in check, but the on-song O’Connor was almost single-handedly ticking the scoreboard for the visitors.O’Connor ended with nine points aside his name and Cawley’s late goal sealed the deal.Donegal: Danny Rodgers; Danny Monagle, Gary McFadden, Daniel Gallagher; Niall Friel (0-1), Tony McClenaghan, Daire Ó Baoill; Michael Lynch, Daniel Clarke (1-0); Christian Bonner, Conor Doherty (0-1), Ciaran Diver; Adam Neely, Gavin McBride (0-1), Lorcan Connor (1-1). Subs: Niall O’Donnell (0-1) for Neely, Stephen McBrearty for Diver, Eoghan Ban Gallagher for Ó Baoill, Michael Langan for Lynch, Caolan McGonigle for Clarke (all half-time), Stephen McMenamin for McFadden (37), Ciaran Gibbons for Friel (39), Shane Graham for Rodgers (41), Ethan O’Donnell for Bonner (41), Darragh Black (0-2) for McBrearty (42), Brendan McCole for McClenaghan (43), John Campbell for McBride, Ciaran McGeady for Monagle (both 46). Sligo: Daniel Cafferkey; Nathan Mullen, Luke Nicholson, Michael Gordon; Darragh Cummins, Paul McNamara (0-1), Sean Power (0-1); Paul Kilcoyne (1-0), Gerard O’Kelly-Lynch; Stephen Connolly, Paddy O’Connor (0-9, 8f), Michael Clarke; Jason Perry, Joe McHugh, Kyle Cawley (1-0). Subs: Dillon Kilgallon for Perry (37), Darragh Kilcoyne (0-1) for McHugh (41), Darragh O’Brien for Connolly (50), Liam Gaughan (0-1) for Clarke (50).Referee: Dan Mullan (Derry).Defeat for Donegal Under-21s against Sligo in North-West Cup was last modified: January 4th, 2017 by Chris McNultyShare this:Click to share on Facebook (Opens in new window)Click to share on Twitter (Opens in new window)Click to share on LinkedIn (Opens in new window)Click to share on Reddit (Opens in new window)Click to share on Pocket (Opens in new window)Click to share on Telegram (Opens in new window)Click to share on WhatsApp (Opens in new window)Click to share on Skype (Opens in new window)Click to print (Opens in new window)last_img read more